B O O K_____. P R E V I E W____M A K I N G_O F _____P R E S S_____E V E N T_____O R D E R >>
_____
ENGLISH / DEUTSCH

. PREVIEW


Leonardo da Vinci, a visionary and genius whose works have inspired - and repeatedly amazed and baffled - engineers, scientists and artists to this day, is the most prominent figure among the spirits of invention. The incredible wealth of his creations - sketches, illustrations and technical drawings - confronts experts with a conundrum. What influences from cultural history did Leonardo gather, redefine through his inventive spirit and dramatize with such confidence? How do these Renaissance impulses to survey and measure the world, to view it through the lens of technology and to clothe it in a garment of data on our world today? This book offers soundly researched answers to these questions. In this trip through time to the age of antiquity, to the medieval nomadic cultures of Asia and to early modern times, Marc J. M. van den Broek confronts Leonardo da Vinci's legacy with artifacts from China, Arabia and various Western cultures and discovers astonishing similarities. With numerous comparisons of drawings and serial illustrations, he allows readers to share in his discoveries step by step.

Each pictorial chapter is a track search.
Spirits of Invention is a kaleidoscopic work. Featuring more than 300 illustrations and lively narrative texts, it is both an intuitively comprehensible artist's book and a multifaceted compendium of facts that guides the reader through Leonardo da Vinci's universe.

  
  
"... The fact that a Chinese artist had drawn an identical structure from the same perspective 500 years earlier may be a coincidence. But then again, maybe not. And if not, how did the drawing get from China to Florence? To what other sketches from the Far East could Renaissance engineers have referred? And did they have access to works from other countries as well - from India, Arabia or Persia? Was it the wisdom of classical antiquity that was ‘reborn’ or that of the entire world?" (Excerpt from Leonardo da Vinci Spirits of Invention, p. 18)

  
  
  
  
  
"...The best-known picture in this context is his Vitruvian Man. In 1490, da Vinci placed the idealized nude figure within a circle within a square in order to visualize proportions. Today, the squared circle can be found in millions of wallets, on the Italian one-euro coin and on various health insurance cards. Leonardo da Vinci's motif was by no means new. Mariano Jacobi decti Taccola, also known as Mariano Taccola, and Francesco di Giorgio Martini, both contemporaries with whose work Leonardo da Vinci was well acquainted, had sketched similar ideas years earlier." (Page 273)

  



A. T E. M.____K O N T A K T____I M P R E S S U M____D A T E N S C H U T Z____A G B____
© 2019 A.TE.M.     Marc J. M. van den Broek

B O O K_____. P R E V I E W____M A K I N G_O F _____P R E S S_____E V E N T_____O R D E R >>
_____
DEUTSCH / ENGLISH

. PREVIEW


Leonardo da Vinci, Visionär und Genie, dessen Arbeiten bis heute Ingenieure, Wissenschaftler und Künstler inspirieren und immer wieder von neuem verblüffen, ist die zentrale Figur der Erfindungsgeister. Der unglaubliche Reichtum seiner Schöpfungen - Skizzen, Illustrationen, technische Zeichnungen - stellt die Fachwelt bis heute vor ein Rätsel: Welche kulturgeschichtlichen Einflüsse hat Leonardo da Vinci zusammengetragen, in seinem Erfindungsgeist neu formuliert und selbstbewusst dramatisiert? Wie wirken diese Impulse der Renaissance, die Welt zu vermessen, zu technisieren und in ein Datenkleid zu setzen, bis heute nach? Dieses Buch bietet fundiert recherchierte Antworten auf diese Fragen. Auf einer Zeitreise in die Antike, in die nomadischen Kulturen des asiatischen Mittelalters und in die frühe Neuzeit stellt Marc J. M. van den Broek Artefakte aus China, Arabien und anderen westlichen Kulturen da Vincis Werk gegenüber und findet dabei erstaunliche Ähnlichkeiten. Anhand vieler Vergleiche von Bildtafeln und Bilderreihen lässt er den Leser Schritt für Schritt an seinen Erkenntnissen teilhaben.

Jedes Bildkapitel ist eine Spurensuche.
Erfindungsgeister ist ein Kaleidoskop: Mit über 300 Abbildungen und lebhaften Erzähltexten ist es gleichsam ein intuitiv erfassbares Künstlerbuch sowie ein facettenreiches Sachbuch, das den Leser durch das Universum Leonardo da Vincis führt.
  
  
"... Es konnte Zufall sein, dass ein chinesischer Künstler 500 Jahre vor ihm eine identische Konstruktion aus derselben Perspektive mit denselben Proportionen und Eigenarten gezeichnet hat. Oder auch nicht. Wenn nicht, wie war die Zeichnung aus China nach Florenz gelangt? Auf welche andere Skizzen aus Fernost konnten die Ingenieure der Renaissance zurückgreifen? Hatten sie darüber hinaus Zugang zu Arbeiten aus anderen Ländern, aus Indien, Arabien, Persien? Wurde nicht nur das Wissen der Antike, sondern der Welt wiedergeboren?"
(Auszug aus dem Buch Leonardo da Vincis Erfindungsgeister, Seite 19)
  
  
  
  
  
"... Das bekannteste Bild dazu ist der 'Vitruvianische Mensch'. 1490 hat da Vinci den idealisierten Nackten in einen Kreis und in ein Quadrat gestellt, um Proportionen sichtbar zu machen. Die Quadratur des Kreises findet sich heute in Millionen von Brieftaschen, auf der italienischen Euromünze und diversen deutschen Krankenkassenkarten. Neu war Leonardo da Vincis Motiv nicht. Jahre zuvor hatten zum Beispiel Mariano Jacobi decti Taccola, auch Mariano Taccola genannt, und Francesco di Giorgio Martini ähnliche Ideen skizziert, beides Zeitgenossen, mit deren Werk Leonardo da Vinci vertraut war." (Seite 188)
  



A. T E. M.____K O N T A K T____I M P R E S S U M____D A T E N S C H U T Z____A G B____
© 2020 A.TE.M.     Marc J. M. van den Broek